Adekoya Emerges As House of Reps. Deputy Minority Whip | DailyTrendOnline - NATIONAL CATALYST


Post Top Ad

Wednesday, July 3, 2019

Adekoya Emerges As House of Reps. Deputy Minority Whip | DailyTrendOnline

The lawmaker representing Ijebu North/Ijebu East/Ogun Waterside Federal Constituency, Hon. Adekoya Adesegun Abdel-Majid on Tuesday emerged the Deputy Minority Whip of the 9th House of Representatives.

Hon. Adekoya has been the favourite candidate and choice of the majority of 147 members of the People's Democratic Party(PDP) in the House of Representatives.

A total of One Hundred and Eleven House of Representatives minority members endorsed Hon. Adekoya on the floor of the House.

Hon. Adekoya joined grassroot politics and was elected Councillor of Ward F2 in Somolu Local Government, Lagos State in 1996. Within the same period, he was the Supervisory Councillor and later elected as Vice Chairman of the same Local Government. 

In December 1996, Kosofe Local Government was carved out of Somolu Local Government,Lagos State and he became the First Executive Chairman of Kosofe Local Government, Lagos State from March 24, 1997 to July 20, 1998.

After his tenure as Chairman, Hon. Adekoya was appointed as Personal Assistant to Jubril Martins-Kuye, the Minister of State for Finance in Abuja where he served from 1999 to 2003.In 2003, he was appointed by Governor Gbenga Daniel of Ogun State as Commissioner 1 in Local Government Service Commission from 2003 to 2007. He was later reappointed as Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs from 2007 to 2008. 

After a minor cabinet reshuffle, he was drafted to the State Ministry of Works as Commissioner where he served from 2008 to 2011.

He is a member of the National Executive Council (NEC) of Nigeria's main opposition party, the People's Democratic Party (PDP), the highest decision-making organ of the party. 

Hon Adekoya was a member of the 8th National Assembly in the House of Representatives, Abuja. He was the Vice Chairman of House Committee on Land Transport and Chairman several other Ad-hoc committees of the House. He joined the race again in 2019 and was popularly elected with a wide margin.

No comments:

Post a Comment